Counties of South West England

Mansion South West England consists of seven counties and the Isles of Scilly which encompass an area of 23,828 square kilometres and are home to about 5 million people.

Here are the counties of South West England and their top attractions:

Bristol. It is the most populous city in South West England and a ceremonial county. As the region’s centre of arts and culture, the city offers a wealth of exciting museum and galleries as well as historic buildings. Some of the most popular attractions are Bristol City Museum and Art Gallery, Clifton Suspension Bridge, M Shed, SS Great Britain and At-Bristol.

Somerset. The ceremonial and non-metropolitan county that borders Gloucestershire and Bristol is best known for its natural wonders. It is home to the spectacular Quantock Hills marked by breathtaking natural beauty, the Mendip Hills, Exmoor National Park and many other sites worth visiting. But it is also famous for producing the Cheddar cheese. And just like other counties of South West England, Somerset is also visited for its world-class historic sites.

Dorset. The ceremonial and non-metropolitan county borders Devon, Somerset, Wilshire and the South East England’s county of Hampshire. The county has a population of about 700,000 one half of which live in the South East Dorset conurbation. Dorset is particularly popular destination for nature lovers who can visit the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Dorset and East Devon Coast (Jurassic Coast), two Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty that cover more than one half of the county and many hidden natural treasures.

Gloucestershire. This ceremonial and non-metropolitan county is located on the northernmost part of South West England. In addition to breathtaking landscape, the county also impresses its visitor with a number of spectacular historic sites mostly dating to the Middle Ages and Early Modern Period such as the Gloucester Cathedral, Badminton House, Sudeley Castle, Berkeley Castle, Dyrham Park and many others.

Devon. The ceremonial and non-metropolitan county that borders Dorset, Somerset and Cornwall is best known for being home to the the Jurassic Coast and Braunton Burrows UNESCO biosphere reserve, and the national parks of Exmoor and Dartmoor. But it also charms its visitors with its historic towns, romantic villages and seaside resorts.

Wiltshire. Probably the most visited county of South West England is famous as the location of the mysterious Stonehenge and Avebury. But the county which borders five counties – Somerset, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Hampshire and Oxfordshire offers much more than the mentioned Neolithic monuments. In fact, there are so many things to see and to experience that you could return to the county for the rest of your life and discover something new every time.

Cornwall. The unitary and ceremonial county lays at the very westernmost of both England and its largest region. It is best known for its spectacular beaches but it also delights visitors who are interested in history and natural beauty. The Isles of Scilly have a unitary authority and are separated from Cornwall, however, they are still a part of the ceremonial county of Cornwall.